Return to home page

America's Choir: The Mormon Tabernacle Choir (2004)

"America's Choir: The Mormon Tabernacle Choir":
Text from the DVD front cover

A Film by Lee Groberg
Narrated by

"America's Choir: The Mormon Tabernacle Choir"
opening credits as they appear on the DVD

Praise to the Lord
Traditional Hymn

John Williams

Angela Lansbury
Actress/Guest Artist


Craig Jessop
Music Director
Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Come, Come, Ye Saints
Latter-day Saint Hymn

Bound for the Promised Land
American Folk Hymn

Bryn Terfel
Baritone Soloist/Guest Artist

Roma Downey
Actress/Guest Artist

Come Let Us Anew
Traditional Hymn

David Hurley
King's Singers

Gordon B. Hinckley
President, The Church of Jesus Christ
of Latter-day Saints

Nigerian Christmas Carol

Lloyd Newell
Music And The Spoken Word

Dana Gioria
Chairman. The National
Endowment For The Arts

Charles Osgood
Radio/TV Personality
Music Composer

American Folk Song

Jerold Ottley
Past Music Director
Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Gabriel Crouch
King's Singers

Battle Hymn of the Republic
Traditional American Song

Stephen Connolly
King's Singers

Don Mischer
Executive Director, Salt Lake Winter
Olympics Opening Ceremonies

"America's Choir: The Mormon Tabernacle Choir"
closing credits as they on the DVD

Directed and Produced by Lee Groberg

Narrated by Walter Cronkite

Written by Heidi Swinton

Director of Photography Mark Goodman

Assistant Camera James Jordon

Additional Photography Gordon Huston

Location Sound Roger Davis

Key Grip Rhett Fernsten

Art Directors Kee Miller
Russell Richins
Jenny Nelson

Costume Designer Shari Ohman
Becky Swayze
Heather Hyte
Karen Long
AnnaKay Findlay
Shannon Poulsen

Makeup Ed Matsu
Lyndi Crow
Greg Moon
Lauri Vukich
Cathren Warner

Props Ives Wood Turning

Daynes Music

LDS Motion Picture Studio

Wranglers Ron Brown
Fenton Quinn

Carriage for Hire

Production Assistants: Jacque Craig
Bradley Wilson
Dawnell Groberg

Chief Editor Mark Goodman

Post-Production Danny Bresnik
Chad Carr

Film Transfer Matchframe Video
The Filmworkers Club

Colorist Peter Jannotta

Recording Engineers Jeff Hall
Milo Lefler
Mike Hoffman
Ken Kruckenberg
Mario Crystal

Original Music

Arranged and Directed by Mack Wilberg

Performed by The Mormon Tabernacle Choir
The Orchestra at Temple Square

Recorded by Bruce Leek
Fred Vogler

Sound Design Mike Chadbourne


Project Manager Cynthia Henthorn

Production Stills Gordon Huston
Lauri Eskelson

Graphics and Titles Mark Nelson
Doug Cravens
Richard Erickson
Bonnie Landau
Bryan Mangum

Public Relations Pryor Associates

Tabernacle Concert:

Producers Ed Payne and Lee Groberg

Directors Lee Wessman and Lee Groberg

Choir Directors Craig Jessop
Mack Wilberg

Production Manager John Bigler

Associate Producer Kim Warren

Technical Director Rob Morton

Music Reader Kathy Craven

Camera Operators Glenn Fisk (Jib)
Reid Robinson
Jeff Winteroth
Dale Bradshaw
Eldon Griffin
Gordon Lonsdale
Mark Goodman

Dolly Grip Justin Andrews
Jason Fife

Camera Grip James Jordon
Jonathan Dawson
Randy Tingey

Camera Equipment Otto Nemenz
Redman Movies and Stories
Motion Pictures, Ltd.
Arri Media

Teleprompter Al Azod

Tape Operator Matt Miller

Lighting Lorin Morse
Rhett Fernsten

Stage Manager Jim Turner
Alex Morris

Audio Lynn Robinson
Chris Acton
Gaylen Smith

EIC Del White

Colorist Bob Wood

Craft Services Debbie Dawson

Catering Viking Feast

Tabernacle Facilities Doug Balls
Jeff Palmer
Robert Poll
Lamont Stewart

Special Thanks to the following locations:

Avery Fisher Hall
Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts

Bigelow Organ, American Fork, UT

Chautauqua Institution

Hatch Shell, The Boston Pops Esplanade

LDS Church Archives

LDS Church Museum

Museum of Welsh Life

Tanglewood Boston Symphony Orchestra

The Tabernacle at Temple Square

This is the Place Heritage Park

Village of Merthyr Tydfil Wales

WOLF TRAP National Park for the Performing Arts

Archival Images:

ABC News VideoSource

Bancroft, University of California at Berkeley

Bonneville International



Denver Public Library

Getty Images

Historic Films Archive

Intellectual Reserve, Inc.

International Society, Daughters of Utah Pioneers

Keystone-Mast Collection
UCR/California Museum of Photography
University of California, Riverside

KSL Television

LDS Motion Picture Studio

Life Magazine

Martha's Vineyard Historical Society

Mormon Tabernacle Choir Archives

Music Division, New York Public Library

Olympic Footage: courtesy IOC/USOC 36USC220506

Scientific American:
Library of Congress,Prints and Photos Division
Historic American Survey

The Andrew J. Russell Collection,
the Oakland Museum of California

Time Magazine

Utah State Historical Society

Video Tape Library Ltd.

Individual Thanks and Appreciation

Mac Christensen Ron Gunnel
Scott Barrick Barry Anderson
Derek Marquis Diena Simmons

Marlene Adler Loren Ashcraft
Jim Bell Rafael Frubeck de Burgos
Tracy Bufferd JeNean Carver
David Chamberlain Brink Chipman
Clay Christiansen Grahame Clark
Robert Cundick Ann Daniels
Skip Daynes Daynes Music
K. Newell Dayley Maureen Foulger
Dowlais Men's Choir Richard Elliott
Jana Erickson Reuben Fox
Huck Gregory Eldon Ives
Senator Orrin Hatch Valerie Jensen
Dale Jones GeraintJones
Kiri Te Kanawa Spence Kinard
Carl Llewellyn David Kurman, CBS Radio
John Longhurst Esyllt Lord
Michael McLean Doug Misner
Lloyd Newell Ranell Johnson
Mike Ohman Leslie and Kitty Norris
Stan Parrish Jerold and Joann Ottley
Bruce Pearson Terry Peterson
Jeff Pryor Ron Reed
Jamie Richardson Mr. and Mrs. Donald Ripplinger
Michael Von Rosen Sandy Rushforth
Jennifer Ryan Nancy Sargent
Bill Schaefermeyer Lyle Shamo
Bill Slaughter Frederica von Stade
Don Staheli Mark Staker
Ann Turner Jay Welch
Nathan Wright The Mormon Tabernacle Choir
The Orchestra at Temple Square

Extra Special Thanks
and Appreciation

Jeanine Groberg

A Production of
Groberg Communications, Inc.

In partnership with

WETA and KBYU Television

2004 Groberg Communications, Inc. KBYU Television.
All rights reserved

Credits transcript by James McCabe. This file has not yet been proofread and verified. Created 18 November 2004.